Head of US evangelicals quits over gay sex claims


The Rev Ted Haggard one of biggest supporter of George Bush and very strong opponent of same sex marriage has resigned after he was accused of paying for sex with a man. He said he is resigning voluntarily so that investigations against him about accusations of paying for sex with man can go smoothly and with integrity. Good Decision. Let see what will be the outcomes. But one thing is for sure if this proves right  than its a matter of great concern for US and for society as whole.

The leader of America’s powerful National Association of Evangelicals, a vocal supporter of George Bush and opponent of same-sex marriage, has resigned after being accused of paying for sex with a man.


The Rev Ted Haggard, a married father of five who is seen as one of the most influential conservative Christians in the nation, vigorously denied the allegations but said he could not “continue to minister under the cloud created by the accusations.”

He also temporarily stepped aside from his position as head of the New Life Church in Colarado Springs – which has 14,000 members – while a church panel investigates the claims.

“I am voluntarily stepping aside from leadership so that the overseer process can be allowed to proceed with integrity. I hope to be able to discuss this matter in more detail at a later date”, he said in a written statement.

Mr Haggard, who was appointed president of the 30 million-member association in March 2003, insisted the claims were untrue, saying: “I have never had a gay relationship with anybody, and I’m steady with my wife, I’m faithful to my wife.”

Technorati technorati tags: , , , , , ,

12 Comments

  1. I’m praying that the claims against homosexual relations are false. He has admitted to buying drugs already… I’m praying that the homosexuality accusations are false. Let’s see where this goes.
    God bless
    Diana

  2. HYDERABADS SIASAT URDU DAILY EDITOR IN SEX RACKET

    A Hyderabad based urdu newspaper siasat editor mr amir ali khan and mr mazhar and mr alamdar were involved in a sex racket today as exposed by MIM floor leader in the state assembly in which a young girl was sold to alleged sex racket after being brought in a trap by offering her a scholarship and then taking her to a farmhouse and raping her which are seirous offenses and even forcing her parents not to file a police complaint and threatnig them with dire consequences.Even the National Law Trust has sent a letter dated on 14-09-2006 signed by its Chairman Mr Khalid Nishu to all the Newspaper editors to take up the story as it damages the reputation of the media and the victim Mrs Mariam Fatima had even met the President of India seeking justice and the State Home Minister has appointed a team led by deputy Commissoner of police Mr Madhu Sudan Reddy IPS to investigate the case as promised by the Minister in the Assembly .

  3. @Diana

    It’s just another chapter of shame in my opinion; a person of such a high standard, ideals for many has done some thing like this. After admitting he has bought drugs he lost all respect at least for me.

  4. It’s shameful, yes. But I feel very sorry for this man. For him and anybody else who goes into a high position and then falls to temptation in this manner.. we have to remember that nobody is above temptation, it comes to everyone and nobody is “holier” than another person, each of us is equally vulnerable to sin, of different kinds of course. Still, I would consider “buying drugs” as easier than “having gay sex”. It is easy to talk to yourself and say “but the Bible doesn’t say you can’t have drugs..” and convince yourself that it *might* be ok, just because there is no *specific* prohibition. But if you have gay sex against the Bible’s SPECIFIC prohibition, it means you are not “deceived” by your weakness in the face of temptation, rather you are choosing to serve your flesh instead of serving God. And that will mean trouble for anybody.

    I don’t want to be too quick to judge. I remember a certain “christian” cricketer by the name of Hansie Cronje who admitted to accepting money “to tell weather forecasts” which went into a much longer, deeper, complicated issue of match fixing and paying players to underperform… I don’t know whether in Haggard’s case it is only buying drugs and not using them, as he claims. I pray it is. For the sake of his soul before God’s sight, I pray he is not lying, and that he is repentant for falling to temptation of buying drugs… I totally support his removal from position of authority, and he also agrees rightly that it is a Biblically sound removal-

    Now all that is left is for Haggard to find his place, I sincerely hope that his “fall” came about as the result of a weakened spirit and resolve, rather than a conscious decision to deny God and play with the spirit of the Church of Christ.

    Haggard is not above temptation, I am not above temptation and the Pope is not above temptation. Anybody can fall. But there is a sin which leads to death. I pray for his sake that he has not fallen to that level (the unforgivable sin is blasphemy against the Holy Spirit).

  5. http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,227568,00.html
    This is a blessing. God has brought this darkness out into the open and led him to repentence may he be saved again by his grace.
    Ok wow… intense stuff.

  6. @Diana

    I really appreeciate and respect your knowledge and the wider view you take into account before judging. I am totally agreed with this (the unforgivable sin is blasphemy against the Holy Spirit).

  7. I’m encouraged to see the strong thinking going on over here. I agree with you Diana in that none of our are above a fall. What is hard about Christian leaders is that with so many people seeking their imput and leadership, they almost can get isolated in who they can download to. There is higher consequences for any person who chooses to lead in the faith. It is so important to have intense accountability. Accountability that fights for each other even if it is with each other to seek protection & growth.

    It is my opinion that Satan is lurking like a roaring lion seeking to whom he would swallow up. I think that the battle isn’t so much in the ordinary lives of people (yes it is there) but even more so to get leaders of the faith to fall.

    I have chosen to be a leader of the faith and I can absolutely tell you that I can smell Satan around the corner (so to speak) seeking to play on any weakness I have. Intense accountability is not an option.

  8. Sharla, precious thoughts as usual. I’m praying for you sis 🙂
    great to have this conversation on your blog, ekawaaz. Thanks for visiting mine 🙂
    God is so good. I am thinking of Jeremiah 29.11:
    “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for wholeness and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

    Love
    Diana

  9. @Sharla

    Thanks for visiting my blog and sharing your views with me and my other blog readers. I just hope this conversation will lighten people views and in this world we need good conversation to uplift our mind and soul so that we can respect each other. You thoughts about this post is really precious.

    @Diana
    Conversation is always good to bring some lights in our soul. I love to visit your blog there is so much to learn and now I found one more Sharla blogs becuase of yours. Blessings..

  10. Ekawaaz,
    I read the report which you linked to on my blog. It is interesting that these accusations should come at a critical time as these elections. It is said in the Bible that the plans of the heart belong to men, but how much succeeds is God’s decision – and this is a live example. This guy might have wanted to affect the election results, but according to God’s will it will be seen whether things will go in favour of his plan or against. Atheists would see this as a gamble – because *something* has to happen either way. But I see God’s will in this because truth has been exposed, a christian has been given a chance to repent and leave his past behind and seek help and prayer from his family (church family and real family), and the election results will also stand according to God’s appointment. Actually I am just praying that God will find this man and show him how he has been used to make such a positive difference. It should be an encouragement to know that his actions are not hated by the church and not hated by anyone who loves Ted Haggard. I think all of us are grateful that his motive was to expose the hypocrisy instead of to get personal revenge.. praying he will come closer to God through this 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing that report. And all your other views throughout this story. Good to find you 🙂
    God bless,
    Diana

    PS – I am also glad you found Sharla’s blog. It really brings sunshine into my days and I hope the Lord will use it to make your days shine also… 🙂

  11. @Diana

    you are most welcome. It really hard to belive that people can go so down just humilate some one and for their personal benifit. Sharla blog is great I really find interesting just like yours. Thanks for all information and knwoledge.

  12. Well I guess he was hurting and he was really upset with Haggard for being a hypocrite. Put yourself in his shoes, what would you do if someone you were “seeing” for 3 years suddenly said on national tv that he was against all “people like you”. I’m not saying whether his claims are true or false but I guess the two men knew each other at least, and he wanted to defend the gay community. Still, the best course is always to forgive and to try not to humiliate – but that is something Jesus teaches best 🙂 it is hard to control the urge to “take revenge” unless God leads your heart to forgiveness. As human beings our natural tendency is to rebel against God and be caught up in negative emotions.

    One more reason why I love Sharla’s blog. Always sunshine! lol

    Anyway I feel this guy needs prayers as much as Haggard and the rest. God has used him to bring the truth out, and wow wouldn’t it be AMAZING if his heart turned towards God also! 😀


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

