Jammu and Kashmir Assembly Election : Kashmiri Pandits fail to win a Single Seat

Jammu and Kashmir Assembly Election : Kashmiri Pandits fail to win a single seat

From The Hindu

Jammu (PTI): For the first time, the Jammu and Kashmir assembly will have no Kashmiri Pandit members as all 47 candidates, including former minister Raman Mattoo, lost the elections. “It is for the first time in the history of Jammu and Kashmir that not even a single KP candidate could occupy a berth in the Jammu and Kashmir assembly,” all party migrant coordination committee (APMCC) Chairman Vinood Pandit said. Former Industries minister in the previous Congress-PDP coalition government, Raman Mattoo, lost to Shimeema Firdos of National Conference in Habbakadal assembly seat. In 2002, Mattoo had defeated Firdos from the same constituency.
Read Full Story Here:

Perhaps I would say Kashmir’s Pundit’s didn’t lose but democracy did. I don’t know honestly what to say about this news but, After all things happens in Jammu and Kashmir from Amarnath yatra row till major separatist movement uprising in Jammu and Kashmir in recent months, I would have preferred to have a every community represented (from separatist to Pundits), in the assembly to make sure that every community is represented at every level in the decision making process, so that a much needed peace and stability can be bring in this beautiful state. Anyway now the results are out so no complaints really it’s an election some people win and some loose but whoever has won Hindu, Sikh or Muslim they have huge responsibility on their shoulder to deliver this time. They have to make sure that interest of all the people, community and religion living in Jammu and Kashmir should be taken care with honesty and dignity.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s