Indian writer Kiran Desai wins Booker prize


LONDON: Indian writer Kiran Desai on Tuesday won the Booker Prize, one of the world’s most prestigious literary awards, for her sweeping novel The Inheritance of Loss.

The prize, founded in 1969, rewards the best book of the year by a writer from Britain, Ireland or a Commonwealth country.

It guarantees the winner instant literary fame and a place in bestseller lists around the globe. Kiran, Kate Grenville, MJ Hyland, Hisham Matar, Edward St Aubyn and Sarah Waters were shortlisted for UK’s pre-eminent literary award, the Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2006.

The shortlist was announced by the chair of judges, Hermione Lee, on September 14.

The shortlisted books, chosen from a longlist of 19, were:
Kiran Desai (The Inheritance of Loss)
Kate Grenville (The Secret River)

Technorati technorati tags: , , , , , ,